After his space ship crashes on a deserted island, Tony (Larry Hagman) finds an ancient looking bottle and out pops a gorgeous genie named Jeannie (Barbara Eden).  Jeannie had been trapped in her bottle for 2500 years and was more than excited and grateful to be released.  She blinks a helicopter into existence, Tony gets rescued and later he finds out he was not dreaming, Jeannie was real and wants to live with him.  I could never understand why Tony saw Jeannie as a problem but then again, I’m no poof, as they say across the pond.  As a young man watching this show growing up, how I wished I would have had a Jeanie.  I wouldn’t have even cared if she didn’t have any magical powers, although that would make things a lot more interesting.  The first show aired on this day September 18, 1965.  The first video from beachranger9847 is a short scene from the classic first episode, the second video from rangernomad001 shows Barbara Eden’s beauty.  My Barbara Eden post.  enjoy!

before-jeanie.jpg

