I was reminded of this song in one of my all time favorite movies “Cool Hand Luke” when I saw an even more interesting video at NickyRivers, while I was putting together the “Stevie Ray Vaughan” post.  Luke just found out his mother died, and he is strumming  his own sort of prayer to her memory.  Thanks to Miksterious for the video. This post is dedicated to Greg Gutfeld, since he just said he hates banjos.  You may have to turn up the sound.  Here are the lyrics.

Well, I don’t care if it rains or freezes,
long as I got my plastic Jesus,
sittin’ on the dashboard of my car.
Comes in colors, pink and pleasant,
glows in the dark cause it’s irridescent
Take it with you when you travel far.
Get yourself a sweet Madonna,
dressed in rhinestones sittin’ on a
pedestal of abalone shell
Goin’ ninety, I ain’t scary,
’cause I’ve got the Virgin Mary,
assurin’ me that I won’t go to Hell.
Get yourself a sweet Madonna,
dressed in rhinestones sittin’ on a
pedestal of abalone shell
Goin’ ninety, I ain’t scary,
’cause I’ve got the Virgin Mary,
assurin’ me that I won’t go to Hell

