good-girl-shania.jpg

Born Eilleen Regina Edwards on this day August 28, 1965 in Windsor, Ontario.  Shania has to be the most beautiful singer alive or dead, country or pop but that does not take away from her talent.  Sales of her first three albums  exceed the 50 million mark. Twains second album “The Woman in Me” sold over 18 million copies and her third album “Come on Over is the biggest selling album of all time by a female artist, and the best selling album in the history of country music, it sold over 34 million copies and hit No. 2 on the Billboard Top 200.  She has received thirty nine BMI Songwriter awards and five Grammy awards.  Shania is the only female to have three albums certified Diamond by the Recording Industry Association of America.  All together she has sold over 73 million albums.  Her accomplishments are staggering, in total she has won 187 awards from 1993 till today.  Some other awards that are not named above are 26  Canadian Country Music Awards, 12 Junos, 9 Billboard Awards, 5 American Music Awards, 4 ACMA’s, and 2 CMA’s.  Shania was born to Sharon and Clarence Edwards, who divorced when she was two.  Her mother then married Jerry Twain, a native Ojibwa Indian, he then adopted Eilleen (Shania)and her sister Jill, and their name was changed to Twain.  There has been criticism of Shania’s embrace of her fathers adopted name and culture.  Some members of the Canadian First Nations, claim that a non Ojibwa adopted by an Ojibwa parent cannot be considered a true Ojibwa.  When Shania was asked about this her reply was “I don’t know how much Indian blood I actually have in me, but as the adopted daughter of my father Jerry, I became registered as a 50% North American Indian … That is my heart and my soul, and I’m very proud of it.”  I also read that “Shania” means “on my way.”

bad-girl-shania.jpg

