jeannie.jpg

Between Bewitched and I Dream of Jeannie, I guess you could say I was into magical women.  This post really isn’t about Jeannie but about the lady who played her, Barbara Eden.  Born Barbara Jean Moorhead on this day August 23, 1934 in Tucson, Arizona USA.  Before Barbara would change her name to Eden in order to further her career in Hollywood, she would first become Barbara Jean Huffman after the marriage by her Mother to Connor Huffman when she was just three years old.  reunion-1.jpgBarbara made quite a few movies as well as many television appearances on shows like Perry Mason, Gunsmoke, The Andy Griffith Show, Route 66 and I Love Lucy, before her most famous roll on I Dream of Jeanie that ran from 1965 to 1970.  I won’t bore you with a list of all her movies, just a few I think may be worth mentioning.  Eden’s first movie was Back to Eternity in 1956 she also played in Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter? 1957, A Private Affair 1959, From the Terrance 1960, an Elvis Presley movie, Flaming Star in  1960, Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea 1961,  The Confession 1964, 7 Faces of Dr. Lao 1964, The Brass Bottle 1964, Harper Valley PTA 1978, Chattanooga Choo Choo 1984, A Very Brady Sequel 1996 and Carolina in 2003.  In 2006 Barbara got together with her co-star of I Dream of Jeanie, Larry Hagman and hopped around a few Hollywood talk shows.  Odd note: One of Barbara Eden’s relatives traced her lineage back to Benjamin Franklin.  and, Yes, on occasion I still Dream of Jeannie.  Brian’s Jeannie Bottles

